From Fiverr Freelancing to Freedom: My Journey as a Full-Time Freelancer (with a Day Job!)

Remember that feeling of endless “submit” buttons and crickets chirping back?

Muhammad Ahtisham
3 min readApr 13, 2024

--

author's image created with Microsoft Designer

Yep, those were my early days of freelancing.

Stuck in a loop of crafting proposals and hitting send, I felt like I was throwing my work into a black hole.

Six whole months flew by, and my inbox remained stubbornly empty.

Self-doubt started to gnaw at me.

Was I good enough? Did I choose the wrong path? But then, a glimmer of hope.

A notification popped up on Fiverr, my first-ever order!

It was a tiny $5 gig, a simple writing task, but to me, it was a golden ticket.

Finally, someone believed in my skills!

That first project might not have led to a waterfall of clients, but it was a spark that ignited my freelance journey.

From there, it was a slow and steady climb.

I kept putting myself out there, sending proposals, and connecting with other freelancers.

Slowly but surely, the orders started trickling in.

--

--

Muhammad Ahtisham

Ghostwriter for Medium, X, and LinkedIn • I create content that connects, converts, and grows your business • Inbox for consultations and services 📥